Latest Issue

Special Olympics Pennsylvania Holds Regional Bowling Competition

Lycoming County Special Olympics was one of eight counties who sent 120 athletes and Unified partners along with 46 coaches to the first ever Region 3 Bowling competition. In addition to Lycoming County, individuals from Bradford, Columbia, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga and Union counties attended this one-day event, which were recently held at Faxon Bowling Lanes.

Special Olympics athletes and their Unified partners have been training on a weekly basis for this competition since September. Participants competed in various events including singles, doubles, teams, Unified doubles and Unified team competition. Special Olympics athletes and their Unified partners were divisioned based on their 15-game average and bowled against other individuals of similar abilities. This regional competition was an important event for all participants as it served as a qualifier for the Special Olympics Pennsylvania State Bowling competition. Individuals finishing in first, second or third place and meeting all other training requirements had their names placed into a random drawing and had the opportunity to be selected to participate in the state event. The state event is scheduled to be held at various bowling centers in York on March 2 and 3, 2024.

Lycoming County Special Olympics athletes and their Unified partners competing in this event and their respective finishes were, first place and receiving a Gold Medal were single division winners Jacob Carey, Alex Feaster, Elena Feaster, Lena Murphy and James Steinruck. Also receiving Gold Medals were Unified Doubles team of Braeden and Emma Schell and Unified Team of Byron Keith Diemer, Paul Smith, Sean Loner and Lester Loner. The Silver Medal recipients in the single competition were Dale Pidcoe, Zach Stutzman, Scott Troisi and Tina Welch. The Unified Doubles team of Heather Kennedy and Patricia Loner also finished in second place and received a Silver Medal. Bringing home the Bronze medal in single competition were Kevin Boyles, Airik Carey, Anthony Moyer, Kyle Powell, Brendan Rooker and Neil Schweikart. Finishing in fourth place in the singles competition and receiving their awards were Anthony Fischetti, Maria Marinucci, Daryl Miller and Rhashan West-Bey.

Press Release